See Northeast Ohio Students Win $100,000 in Scholarships & Prizes


See Northeast Ohio Students Win $100,000 in Scholarships & Prizes

Sunday, April 10 – A Spectacular Event at Severance Hall!

WHO: 25 outstanding student essay writers grades 6-12; one Junior or Senior will win a $50,000 scholarship to an Ohio college or university ($25,000 for First Runner-Up and $15,000 for Second)

WHAT: Stop the Hate: Youth Speaks Out! Awards Ceremony and Reception. Remarks from Special Guest Speaker Abraham H. Foxman (National Director, Anti-Defamation League); Master of Ceremonies WMJI’s Jimmy Malone. Remarks by Maltz Museum co-founder Milton Maltz, Museum Executive Director Judi Feniger, KeyBank District President Lisa Oliver, Chairman, Musical Arts Association Richard Bogomolny. Featuring: Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra Chamber Ensemble, Elyria High School Pioneer Marching Band, Greater Cleveland Young Marines Color Guard and, for the first time, the Cleveland Metropolitan School District Stop the Hate Retro Rappers. Student ushers from Ginn Academy.

WHEN: Sunday, April 10, 2011 – Doors open 12:45pm, Ceremony Begins 1:00pm; Reception Smith Lobby 3:00pm (approximate) Foxman Keynote speech (1:30pm); Finalists read essays (1:50pm); Scholarship winners announced (2:50pm)

WHERE: Severance Hall, Reinberger Chamber Hall – 11001 Euclid Ave. Cleveland, OH 44106

Parking: Media (in cars) should park in Severance Hall garage off East Blvd. and enter Severance Hall from the garage – parking supervisor will have vouchers; Media Trucks should park in the pull-in on East Blvd. in front of Severance Hall.

Created by the Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage,
Stop The Hate: Youth Speak Out! asks students to describe an act of discrimination, reflect on their own response and write a 500-word essay with a plan of action to affect change. Essays are scored on content, writing, originality and creativity, and utilization of the theme of personal responsibility.

Multi-box will be available; cameras will be escorted to the back corners of the hall. Lots of great action and visuals. Media participation is encouraged before, during and after the event – just let us know what you need and we will make it happen.

Contacts: Adam Teresi, media relations – 216.593.0584; 216.469.1725 (cell);
Judi Feniger, Executive Director – 216.593.0591;


These finalists will compete for three college scholarships by giving oral presentations at the awards ceremony on April 10 at Severance Hall.

  • Kourtney Burns, Shaker Heights High School
  • Bracha Greenfeld, Yavne High School, Beachwood (University Heights resident)
  • Heather Guhde, Beaumont High School, Cleveland Heights (Euclid resident)
  • Hayleigh Sanders, Olmsted Falls High School
  • Kari Semel, Shaker Heights High School
  • Jasmyn Shumate, Shaker Heights High School
  • Alexander Stojsavljevic, Normandy High School, Parma
  • Kyle Susman, Solon High School
  • Cedric Thorbes, Glenville High School
  • Elliot Wainwright, Elyria High School

Finalists in grades 6-10 will be awarded cash prizes: $300 First Prize/$200 Second Prize/$100 Third Prize


  • Taylor Meyers, Kenston High School, Chagrin Falls
  • Brenton Sullivan, Shaker Heights High School
  • Carli Yoho, Kenston High School, Chagrin Falls


  • Liyanna Chandler-Nieves, St. Joseph Academy, Cleveland
  • Victoria Lewis, Cleveland Heights High School
  • Alexis Nieszczur, Padua Franciscan High School, Parma


  • Monica McDonough, Rocky River Middle School
  • Austin Rubinoski, Eastern Heights Middle School, Elyria
  • Myleana Slepko, Eastern Heights Middle School, Elyria


  • Jared Anderson, North Olmsted Middle School
  • Isabella Nilsson, Hathaway Brown School, Shaker Heights
  • Mason Pavlos, North Olmsted Middle School


  • Claire Bruening, Beachwood Middle School
  • Benjamin Rowles, Beachwood Middle School
  • Brandi Sutton, St. Barnabas Elementary School, Northfield