for Northeast Ohio 6-12th Graders

You have the power to make a positive difference in the world.

Teachers! Get
Your Students

Register as a
Stop the Hate Reader

Complete Rules
& Guidelines

Entry Form

Winners 2013

Essay Contest

Important contest update: DEADLINE EXTENDED TO JANUARY 24 AT 5:00PM
On January 20th, an unforeseen technical issue caused the Stop the Hate essay submission portal to crash multiple times. We received several emails and phone calls to alert us that the portal was not working and we wan

click on the student’s name to read their essay

GRAND SCHOLARSHIP WINNER (four-year $50,000 scholarship)
Annie Robinson, Aurora High School – 11th grade watch the video

FIRST RUNNER-UP (four-year $25,000 scholarship)
Kelly Knaser, Wickliffe High School – 12th grade watch the video

SECOND RUNNER-UP (four-year $15,000 scholarship)
Robert Edwards, Max Hayes High School, Cleveland – 12th grade watch the video

Honorable Mentions ($1,000 cash prize)
Biar Akar, Brecksville-Broadview Heights High School – 12th grade
Andrew Huang, University School, Hunting Valley – 11th grade
Avalon Regalbuto, Orange High School – 12th grade
Courtney Ross, Chardon High School – 12th grade
Courtney Schmidt, Brecksville-Broadview Heights High School – 11th grade
Adrian Simion, Westlake High School – 12th grade
Evelyn Ting, Shaker Heights High School – 12th grade


1st Prize ($300) Benjamin Yoder, Copley-Fairlawn Middle School
2nd Prize ($200) Owen Gaudio, St. Barnabas Elementary School, Northfield
3rd Prize ($100) Gabriella Nassif, St. Barnabas Elementary School, Northfield

1st Prize ($300) Noah Rish, Learwood Middle School, Avon Lake
2nd Prize ($200) Kate Klika, Miller-South Visual and Performing Arts School, Akron
3rd Prize ($100) Lexee Dalgleish, Learwood Middle School, Avon Lake

1st Prize ($300) Soli Collins, Roxboro Middle School, Cleveland Heights
2nd Prize ($200) Kim Taylor, Rocky River Middle School
3rd Prize ($100) Laura DeVito, Rocky River Middle School

1st Prize ($300) Nichole Shriver, Twinsburg High School
2nd Prize ($200) Gwenyth Szabo, Lake Ridge Academy Elementary, North Ridgeville
3rd Prize ($100) Apoorva Vallampati, Twinsburg High School 

10th GRADE
1st Prize ($300) Abby White, Shaker Heights High School
2nd Prize ($200) Jessica Hartig, Solon High School
3rd Prize ($100) Shala Blade, Glenville High School, Cleveland


  • Presented By:

    Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage

  • Generously Supported by

    Presenting Sponsor
    Dworken & Bernstein

    The Semi J. and Ruth Begun Foundation

    Signature Sponsors
    Dealer Tire


    Media Partner
    Northeast Ohio Parent