for Northeast Ohio 6-12th Graders

You have the power to make a positive difference in the world.

Teachers! Get
Your Students

Register as a
Stop the Hate Reader

Complete Rules
& Guidelines

Entry Form

Winners 2009

Essay Contest

The 2020 contest is now closed. To learn more about the annual scholarship contest, please contact program manager, Ben Becker at 216-593-057

2009 Winners listed below:
Please click on the names below to view a PDF document of each students’ essay.

$100,000 Scholarship Prize Winner
Matt Soble
Senior, Solon High School

First Runner Up – High School Grand Prize $1,000
Lauren M. McCafferty
Senior, Olmsted Falls High School

Second Runner-Up – 12th Grade Prize $500
Jane Yiyi Zhang
Senior, Oberlin High School

11th Grade Prize $200
Cassidy Artz
Junior, Hathaway Brown School

Honorable Mention $100
Sophie Grodsinsky
Senior, Walsh Jesuit High School, Cuyahoga Falls

Sarah Harris
Electronic Classroom of Tomorrow

Chelsa Lewis-Bevel
Senior, Success Tech Academy, Cleveland

Alex Port
Junior, Solon High School

Justina Wong
Senior, Independence High School

Kelly Yarber
Senior, Strongsville High School 

Middle School Grand Prize Winner – highest score of all 6-8 grade entries $500
Divya Thomas
Kenston Middle School, Chagrin Falls

First Place – $200 U.S. Savings Bond
Second Place – $100 U.S. Savings Bond
6th Grade
1st Place: Divya L. Madhavan
Brecksville/Broadview Heights Middle School
2st Place: Dina J. Rini
St. Mary Byzantine Catholic School, Cleveland

7th Grade
1st Place:Becca Cain
R.B. Chamberlin Middle School, Twinsburg
2st Place: Lukash Kowcz
Brecksville/Broadview Heights Middle School

8th Grade
1st Place: Lyssa Collins
St. Paul Lutheran School, Westlake
2st Place: Jake Amato
Holy Trinity School, Avon

9th Grade
1st Place: Theodore Sachem Wilson III
The Arts Academy, Lorain
2st Place: Hannah Sellers
Kenston High School, Chagrin Falls

10th Grade
1st Place:Michelle Hoffman
Kenston High School, Chagrin Falls
2st Place: Alexis McNichol
Brush High School, South Euclid/Lyndhurst

  • Presented By:

    Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage

  • Generously Supported by

    Presenting Sponsor
    Dworken & Bernstein

    The Semi J. and Ruth Begun Foundation

    Signature Sponsors
    Dealer Tire


    Media Partner
    Northeast Ohio Parent

  • Maltz Museum