for Northeast Ohio 6-12th Graders

You have the power to make a positive difference in the world.

Teachers! Get
Your Students

Register as a
Stop the Hate Reader

Complete Rules
& Guidelines

Entry Form

Winners 2012

Essay Contest

The 2020 contest is now closed. To learn more about the annual scholarship contest, please contact program manager, Ben Becker at 216-593-057

Grand Prize (four-year $50,000 scholarship)
Gabrielle Jones – Martin Luther King, Jr. High School, Cleveland

First Runner-Up (four-year $25,000 scholarship)
Hannah Schmidt – Brush High School, Lyndhurst

Second Runner-Up (four-year $15,000 scholarship)
Jane Kim – Beaumont High School, Cleveland Heights

Honorable Mentions ($1,000 cash prize)
Telayne Keith – Our Lady of the Elms High School, Akron
Sarah Krafcik – Padua Franciscan High School, Parma
Rachel Lieberman – Orange High School
Bryan Naelitz – Marion L. Steele High School, Amherst
Zachary Schwartz – Solon High School
Ciera L. West – Whitney Young High School, Cleveland
Allyson Zabell – Orange High School

6th – 10th Grade Division cash prizes
10th Grade
$300 First Prize: Corinne Sinclair, Cleveland Heights High School
$200 Second Prize:  Adrian Berr, Cleveland Heights High School
$100 Third Prize: Mayam Assar, Cleveland Heights High School

9th Grade
$300 First Prize:  Zachary Kenna, Stowe-Munroe Falls High School
$200 Second Prize: Josh Chernomorets, Solon High School
$100 Third Prize: Hailey Delphia LaFrance, Kenston High School, Bainbridge

8th Grade
$300 First Prize: Julia Jantz, Learwood Middle School, Avon Lake
$200 Second Prize: Lucy Grierson, Rocky River Middle School
$100 Third Prize: Sapir Flank, Fuchs Mizrachi of Cleveland High School, Beachwood

7th Grade
$300 First Prize: Marisa Lancaster, Hathaway Brown School, Shaker Heights
$200 Second Prize: Arjun Ramachandran, Solon Middle School
$100 Third Prize: Graci Homany, Hathaway Brown School, Shaker Heights

6th Grade
$300 First Prize: Srikar Dudipala, Copley-Fairlawn Middle School
$200 Second Prize: Brian Luck, Copley-Fairlawn Middle School
$100 Third Prize: Micah Stark, Copley-Fairlawn Middle School

to top

  • Presented By:

    Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage

  • Generously Supported by

    Presenting Sponsor
    Dworken & Bernstein

    The Semi J. and Ruth Begun Foundation

    Signature Sponsors
    Dealer Tire


    Media Partner
    Northeast Ohio Parent

  • Maltz Museum