for Northeast Ohio 6-12th Graders

You have the power to make a positive difference in the world.

Teachers! Get
Your Students


Register as a
Stop the Hate Reader

Complete Rules
& Guidelines


Essay Contest

Stop the Hate® Youth Speak Out celebrates students committed to creating a more accepting, inclusive society. By reflecting on real-life situations and detailing ways to make a positive difference in the world, this next generation of leaders can win big.

Stop the Hate®

Appreciation to the distinguished judges who scored 26 semi-finalist written essays to select the 2011 finalists.

Andrea Bestor
Grand Prize “Stop the Hate” Scholarship Winner 2010

Avery Friedman
Civil Rights Attorney and CNN Analyst

Ramez Islambouli
Adjunct Professor, Department of Religious Studies/Islamic Law, CASE

Eric Lutzo
President, PLEXUS: The Chamber of Commerce for the LGBT Community

Marilyn Sanders Mobley
Vice President, Inclusion, Diversity and Equal Opportunity, CASE

Stephen J. Ong
Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Ruth Ramos
First Vice President, Young Latino Network

Debra Adams Simmons
Editor, The Plain Dealer

  • Presented By:

    Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage

  • Youth Speak Out Sponsors


    Dealer Tire

    Northeast Ohio Parent

    The Helen F. Stolier and Louis Stolier Family Foundation