for Northeast Ohio 6-12th Graders

You have the power to make a positive difference in the world.

Teachers! Get
Your Students



Complete Rules
& Guidelines


Essay Contest

Stop the Hate® Youth Speak Out celebrates students committed to creating a more accepting, inclusive society. By reflecting on real-life situations and detailing ways to make a positive difference in the world, this next generation of leaders can win big.

Stop the Hate®

Appreciation to the distinguished judges who scored 24semi-finalist written essays to select the 2012 finalists.

Steven Dettelbach
US Attorney for Northern Ohio

Rick Jackson
Reporter and Program Host, Ideastream

Rabbi Sharon Young Marcus
Associate Rabbi, Park Synagogue/President, Greater Cleveland Board of Rabbis

Victor Ruiz
Executive Director, Esperanza

Debra Adams Simmons
Editor, Plain Dealer

Alexander Stojsavljevic
2011 Stop the Hate Grand Prize Winner

Paramjit Singh
Trustee, Federation of India Community Associations of Northeast Ohio

Cindy Yu
Associate Director, LGBT Community Center of Greater Cleveland

  • Presented By:

    Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage

  • Youth Speak Out Sponsors


    Dealer Tire

    Northeast Ohio Parent

    The Helen F. Stolier and Louis Stolier Family Foundation